DU Awards College Scholarships

Betsy Newbill

Betsy Newbill

Ducks Unlimited has awarded 61 scholarships to graduating high school seniors from across the country. This year’s winner of DU’s $10,000 National Scholarship is Betsy Newbill of Dyersburg, Tennessee. Betsy has been an active DU volunteer at the high school level for years. For those who have watched her grow with the organization, this acknowledgment has been especially rewarding.

“One of the highlights in my position with Ducks Unlimited is being a mentor for high school and collegiate volunteers like Betsy,” said West Tennessee Senior Regional Director Jimbo Robinson. “I have watched her continue her leadership path with the organization through her involvement with the Dyer County Varsity Chapter and could not be prouder of her for being named the 2020 National Scholarship winner.”

Betsy, who recently served as chairwoman of the Dyer County Varsity Chapter, is the first female recipient of the National Scholarship. “Winning the National Scholarship has allowed me to represent the Volunteer State with great pride. Not only am I the first individual from Tennessee to receive this scholarship, but I am also the first female,” Betsy said. “I would like to thank Ducks Unlimited for this honor and opportunity to represent the organization nationally and carry on the wonderful tradition of wildlife conservation.”

Congratulations to all the 2020 DU National Scholarship recipients!

Ducks Unlimited National
Scholarship ($10,000)

Betsy Newbill, TN

Ducks Unlimited Conservation
Scholarship ($1,000)

Richard A. Corbett Conservation Scholarship—Noah Fischer, FL

Lake Forest Area Conservation Scholarship—Sarah Bouthillier, GA

Blake Arceneaux, LA

Audrey Hanks, LA

Irene W. and C.B. Pennington Foundation Conservation Scholarship—Blair Simon, LA

Clay Beasley, NC

Staley Family Conservation Scholarship—Allison Dunn, NC

Abbie Matthews, NC

Goulding Family Conservation Scholarship—Connor Davis, TX

Lewis H. Pardon Memorial Conservation Scholarship—Jeffry Clark, WY

Ducks Unlimited Varsity
Scholarship ($500)

Harvey L. Sorenson Memorial Varsity Scholarship—Sara Bauman, AK

Emmett Lee, AL

Irene W. and C.B. Pennington Foundation Varsity Scholarship—Tupelo Thompson, AR

Irene W. and C.B. Pennington Foundation Varsity Scholarship—Avery Womack, AR

Katarina Bromkamp, CT

Dakota Causey, FL

Parker Hannon, FL

Ron and Christen Sanders Varsity Scholarship—Juliana Rendle, FL

Samuel Brewster, GA

Braeden Theriault, GA

Tarpy Family Varsity Scholarship—Kolbe Kinney, IL

Gary and Debbie Salmon Varsity Scholarship—Tabitha Lobell, LA

Soren Hanson, MI

Larry Arbogast Family Varsity Scholarship—Tanner Peterson, MI

Bill Young Family Varsity Scholarship—Nicholas Tracy, MI

Brecken Johnston, MO

Ronal and Patti Roberson Varsity Scholarship—Zach Bridwell, MS

Wendell Weakley Varsity Scholarship—Jake Lange, MS

Jerri and Bobbi Harris Varsity Scholarship—Holden Champion, NC

Bobby C. Haulbrook Memorial Varsity Scholarship—Ashlyn Futrell, NC

Kristen Hardee, NC

Lee Hayden, NC

Donald and Heather Potter III Varsity Scholarship—Reid Hudson Walters, NC

Donnie E. Lassiter Varsity Scholarship—Savanah Webb, NC

Bob Barnhill Varsity Scholarship—William Womack, NC

Kaitlyn Fehlhafer, NE

Anna Feldman, NE

John and Gayle Swarbrick Varsity Scholarship—Ethan Fritz, NE

Ethan Lavelle, NE

Mason Rivera, NE

Boden Ruskamp, NE

Harley and Linda Hansen Varsity Scholarship—Ethan Uhlir, NE

Marsellus Family Varsity Scholarship—Taryn Burgess, NY

Garrett Seger, OH

Baylar Barnett, OK

Ashton Campbell Varsity Scholarship—Micah Lugafet, OK

Spread Oaks Ranch Varsity Scholarship—Kasen Moran, OK

Coy Johnston Varsity Scholarship—Carson Stuck, SC

Margaret Gardner, TN

John Jones, TN

Don and B.J. Taylor Labsnhearts Varsity Scholarship—Weston Finke, TX

Tom Johnson Varsity Scholarship—Cade Hellman, TX

Oliver and Donna Aldrich Varsity Scholarship—Kade Miller, TX

Theresa E. DeLaup Memorial Varsity Scholarship—Jacob Patterson, TX

Terry and Pam Andrus Varsity Scholarship—Carter Snead, TX

Wylie Family Varsity Scholarship—Cooper Trolinger, TX

Allan and Carla Hopp Varsity Scholarship—Tyler Wurl, WA

Luke Biese, WI

Blake Richard, WI

Madison Vincent, WI

The DU National Scholarship Endowment is providing the necessary funding for scholarship recipients. Thanks to each Major Sponsor for supporting the endowment through a named scholarship. For more information about named scholarship opportunities, please contact Chad Manlove at 601-206-5442 or cmanlove@ducks.org.