Alaska Clark Springer Award

The Clark Springer Platinum Waterfowl Award is the highest volunteer award given by Alaska Ducks Unlimited. The award is named in honor of the late Clark Springer (1932-2001), who's lifetime service and contributions to Ducks Unlimited set the standard for volunteerism.

Clark Springer, of Homer, Alaska, devoted many years of outstanding and wise leadership, and dedication to Ducks Unlimited, and to the noble cause of conservation of North America's waterfowl, and the perpetuation of our timeless waterfowl heritage; and

His support of Ducks Unlimited, through his wealth of knowledge and experience and his years of devoted service, provided a significant factor in the achievement of the unique and distinguished stature which Ducks Unlimited enjoys in the conservation world today; and

Clark Springer tirelessly and unselfishly expended his time and talents while steadfastly upholding the highest ideals of Ducks Unlimited in many capacities as a volunteer leader. He served as the Alaska State Chairman and was a longtime member of the Board of Directors, most recently serving as Senior Vice President for the North Pacific Flyway. Clark was also a generous supporter of Ducks Unlimited's programs as a Legacy Sponsor and a Grand Slam Sponsor in Perpetuity.

Clark Springer's unswerving dedication, wise counsel, and courageous leadership, stand high as continuing sources of inspiration for all of those Ducks Unlimited leaders and members who have been privileged to know, serve and work with him.

Alaska DU volunteers who have been honored to receive the Clark Springer award include:

                                2002         Lyndon Ibele, Anchorage
                                2003         Ron Goecke, Kenai
                                2004         Roger Penrod, Fairbanks
                                2005         Ray Meier, Soldotna
                                2006         Lillian Sager, Cold Bay
                                2007         Reece Baldwin, Anchorage
                                2008         James H. Hagee, Anchorage                                                                                                               2009         Marc Lind, Eagle River                                                                                                                           2010         Tom & Susan Bailey, Anchorage                                                                                                           2011         Jon Morse, Anchoarage                                                                                                                         2012         Boomer Hensley, Wasilla                                                                                                                       2013         Annie Staudenmaier, Anchorarge                                                                                                         2014         Sara Curtis, Anchorage