DU Projects: Atlantic Flyway

Stretching from the Arctic tundra of Baffin Island to the Caribbean, the Atlantic Flyway spans more than 3,000 miles.

The easternmost flyway is composed of the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia; the Canadian provinces of Newfoundland, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, and Quebec; and the territory of Nunavut.

The Atlantic is the most densely populated of the four flyways and many waterfowl habitats in this region are threatened by development and urban sprawl.

DU and its partners have conserved almost 500,000 acres of waterfowl habitat in the Atlantic Flyway to date.

Atlantic Flyway States

Connecticut | DelawareFloridaGeorgiaMaineMarylandMassachusetts |
New HampshireNew JerseyNew YorkNorth CarolinaPennsylvania |
Rhode IslandSouth CarolinaVermontVirginiaWest Virginia