Great Plains Region

© Michael Furtman

 

The Great Plains Region, headquartered in Bismarck, N.D., was established in 1984 to protect and restore wetlands and grasslands in the United States Great Plains. Today, the GPR carries out conservation programs in seven states that include some of the most important nesting and migration habitat on the continent. DU has conserved more than 1.2 million acres in the Great Plains states of North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, MontanaKansas, Colorado and Wyoming.

Upwards to 50 percent of the continent’s waterfowl nest in the Prairie Pothole Region states of Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota, where DU protects grasslands and wetlands. DU also works with farmers and landowners to promote planting winter wheat, which makes good nesting habitat since it is planted in the fall and has less disruption in the spring.

Ducks and other wetland-dependent birds depend on migration habitat to feed, rest and build vital energy reserves. DU restores and protects habitat in the Rainwater Basin in Nebraska and along the Platte River in Nebraska, Colorado and Wyoming; the mountain wetlands of Colorado, Montana and Wyoming; and the Cheyenne Bottoms in Kansas. Research has shown that the quality of migration habitat affects the condition of birds returning north to the nesting grounds.

DU is developing new ways to help landowners conserve land through its Ecosystems Services, including the Environmental Water Markets, Carbon Sequestration and Wetland Mitigation programs.

GPR_Map

Great Plains Region Contacts

North Dakota

  • For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Tanner Gue at (701) 355-3592 or tgue@ducks.org
  • For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Chris Hildebrandt at (406) 203-2503 or childebrandt@ducks.org
  • For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Terry Lasiter at (701) 890-5770 or tlassiter@ducks.org
  • For questions related to conservation programs in northwest North Dakota, contact Dane Buysse at (507) 828-2658 or dbuysse@ducks.org
  • For questions related to conservation programs throughout North Dakota, contact Emily Schwartz at (701) 355-3538 or eschwartz@ducks.org
  • For questions related to conservation programs in northeast North Dakota, contact Robert Ford at (701) 230-2141 or rford@ducks.org
  • For questions related to conservation programs in southeast North Dakota, contact William Palarski at (715) 573-0510 or wpalarksi@ducks.org

Montana

  • For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or project, contact Robert Sanders at (406) 492-2002 or rsanders@ducks.org
  • For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Chris Hildebrandt at (406) 203-2503 or childebrandt@ducks.org
  • For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Barry Allen at (406) 780-0523 or ballen@ducks.org
  • For questions related to conservation programs in Montana, contact Abby Dresser at (406) 544-6445 or adresser@ducks.org, or Adam McDaniel at (406) 564-0709 or amcdaniel@ducks.org

South Dakota

  • For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Bruce Toay at (605)380-0684 or btoay@ducks.org
  • For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Terry Kostinec at (605) 624-0098 or tkostinec@ducks.org
  • For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Don Thorpe at (605) 630-8696 or dthorpe@ducks.org

Nebraska

  • For questions on information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact John Denton at (308) 258-4682 or jdenton@ducks.org
  • For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Terry Kostinec at (605) 624-0098 or tkostinec@ducks.org
  • For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Steve Wilson at (402) 499-5515 or swilson@ducks.org; or Pat Baughman at (308) 986-2374 or pbaughman@ducks.org

Kansas

  • For questions on information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Matt Hough at (308) 384-2668 or mhough@ducks.org
  • For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Shawn Heggen at (816) 500-9805 or sheggen@ducks.org
  • For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Josh Williams at (785) 443-4486 or jwilliams@ducks.org; John Ritchey at (785) 844-1136 or jritchey@ducks.org; or Chris Young at (913) 333-2922 or cyoung@ducks.org

Colorado

  • For questions on information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact John Denton at (308) 258-4682 or jdenton@ducks.org
  • For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Scott McGraw at (303) 520-8334 or smcgraw@ducks.org, or Jordan Brown at (970) 658-6832 or jdbrown@ducks.org
  • For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Erik Wettersten at (970) 531-1965 or ewettersten@ducks.org; or Justin Huggins at (720) 610-2210 or jhuggins@ducks.org

Wyoming

  • For questions on information on local DU conservation programs on projects, contact Tom Peterson at (308) 218-8160 or tpeterson@ducks.org
  • For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Chris Hildebrandt at (406) 203-2503 or childebrandt@ducks.org, or Jordan Brown at (785) 219-9445 or jdbrown@ducks.org
  • For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Robert Hathaway at (307) 221-2061 or rhathaway@ducks.org