DU Mobile Apps

Chris "Boomer" Hesley presented with 2012 Springer Award


Volunteer Chris "Boomer" Hesley was presented with Alaska DU's 2012 Clark Springer Platinum Waterfowl Award, honoring him as the top DU volunteer in the State of Alaska.  Boomer has been District Chairman in the Anchorage area since 2009.  He was named 2010 District Chairman of the Year.  Events in his district that he has helped to lead include the Anchorage Fall Banquet, the Anchorage Spring BBQ, the Military Hunters Night Out, and the Anchorage Ladies banquet.   Additionally, he has volunteered in helping events outside his district including banquets in Seward, Cooper Landing, MatSu, Fort Richardson, Eagle River and Delta Junction.

Boomer has been instrumental in guiding the Anchorage Fall Banquet to Top-100 results in the past two years, and in helping the Spring BBQ to the top 10 in the nation.  He is a Life Sponsor and Feather Society member. 

Boomer believes in the DU mission:  "My Dad always told me if you truly believe in something, do all you can to support it regardless of who sees you doing it or what the consequences/rewards may be.  I don't care much about awards, but am genuinely honored to be a Springer Award recipient.  I don't care much about which event does the best, I just want to help DU.  I'm excited year after year with the success of chapters in my district.  However, I want to help all chapters do well, and will volunteer my time to help others because it all goes to the same cause--one in which I honestly believe." 

"Boomer" Hesley after a successful crane hunt in Alaska.

The Clark Springer Platinum Waterfowl Award is the highest volunteer award given by Alaska Ducks Unlimited. The award is named in honor of the late Clark Springer (1932-2001), who’s lifetime service and contributions to Ducks Unlimited set the standard for volunteerism.

Clark Springer, of Homer, Alaska, devoted many years of outstanding and wise leadership, and dedication to Ducks Unlimited, and to the noble cause of conservation of North America's waterfowl, and the perpetuation of our timeless waterfowl heritage.

His support of Ducks Unlimited, through his wealth of knowledge and experience and his years of devoted service, provided a significant factor in the achievement of the unique and distinguished stature which Ducks Unlimited enjoys in the conservation world today.

Clark Springer tirelessly and unselfishly expended his time and talents while steadfastly upholding the highest ideals of Ducks Unlimited in many capacities as a volunteer leader. He served as the Alaska State Chairman and was a longtime member of the Board of Directors, most recently serving as Senior Vice President for the North Pacific Flyway. Clark was also a generous supporter of Ducks Unlimited's programs as a Legacy Sponsor and a Grand Slam Sponsor in Perpetuity.

Clark Springer’s unswerving dedication, wise counsel, and courageous leadership, stand high as continuing sources of inspiration for all of those Ducks Unlimited leaders and members who have been privileged to know, serve and work with him.

Alaska DU volunteers who have been honored to receive the Clark Springer award in past years include:

2002 Lyndon Ibele, Anchorage
2003 Dave Eng, Fairbanks
2004 Roger Penrod, Fairbanks
2005 Ray Meier, Soldotna
2006 Lillian Sager, Cold Bay
2007 Reece Baldwin, Anchorage
2008 Dr. James Hagee, Chugiak
2009 Marc Lind, Eagle River
2010 Tom & Susan Bailey, Chugiak
2011 Jon Morse, Anchorage

Related:  alaska

Free DU Decal

Receive a free DU decal when you signup for our free monthly newsletter.