DU pursues additional cosponsors for NAWCA legislation in Senate, House

Ducks Unlimited submitted testimony recently in support of S. 2282, the Senate bill to reauthorize the North American Wetlands Conservation Act (NAWCA) through 2017, as part of a hearing held by the U.S. Senate Environment and Public Works Committee.

Following the hearing, DU continued to attempt to add cosponsors to the bill. Current cosponsors include Sens. Max Baucus (MT), Roy Blunt (MO), Barbara Boxer (CA), Ben Cardin (MD), Thad Cochran (MS), Tim Johnson (SD), Amy Klobuchar (MN), Mary Landrieu (LA), Jon Tester (MT), David Vitter (LA) and Roger Wicker (MS). DU is making special efforts to pursue cosponsorship from other committee members, Sens. John Barasso (WY), Mike Crapo (ID) and Lamar Alexander (TN).

DU is also continuing to add cosponsors to the House version of the NAWCA reauthorization legislation, H.R. 1960. Current cosponsors are Reps. John Dingell (MI), Tammy Baldwin (WI), Gerry Connolly (VA), Jim Costa (CA), Joe Courtney (CT), Robert Dold (IL), Jeffrey Fortenberry (NE), John Garamendi (CA), Steven King (IA), Robert Latta (OH), David Loebsack (IA), Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO), Jeff Miller (FL), Candice Miller (MI), Jim Moran (VA), Mike Ross (AR), Steve Scalise (LA), Steve Stivers (OH), Bennie Thompson (MS), Bill Johnson (OH) and Mike Thompson (CA).

The House bill has been through a hearing in the Natural Resources Committee and is pending committee consideration. DU is working to encourage Rep. Doc Hastings (WA), the chairman of the committee, to schedule the bill for further action. Several members of DU's board of directors, including DU President John Newman, and trustees of Wetlands America Trust, including WAT President John Childs, met with the chairman recently to relay their support for NAWCA and getting the bill passed.