Hail the Champions

Hughes, Allen, Rickman capture calling titles

By Gary Koehler

A pair of seasoned veterans took top honors in November during the world's two most renowned competitive game-calling contests.

Goose Calling

Mitch Hughes captured first place in the 35th Annual World Championship Goose Calling Contest in his hometown of Easton, Maryland. Hughes is a repeat winner, having previously claimed the title in 2006. Second place went to Field Hudnall of West Fork, Kentucky.

The Champion of Champions trophy went to Wade Walling of Romeoville, Illinois. Walling, who has claimed more than 40 contest victories, won the world championship in 2008. Hughes was runner-up.

Duck Calling

On the duck-calling front, Brad Allen of Judsonia, Arkansas, made his 10th trip to Stuttgart a memorable visit by winning the 75th Annual World's Championship Duck Calling Contest. The Women's World Duck Calling Championship was taken by Priscilla Rickman of Dyersburg, Tenn.

Champion of Champions honors went to Todd Copley of Des Moines, Iowa. Copley, a familiar face on Main Street since 1999, is a past world champion, having captured the crown in 2003.

Ryan Nolan of Roland, Oklahoma, was runner-up in both the world and Champion of Champions contests.

For information regarding next year's contests, check out waterfowlfestival.com and stuttgartarkansas.org. The next Champion of Champions contests, with entry restricted to past world champions, are scheduled for 2015.