Ducks Unlimited Member Forums

Old Dogs and New Tricks

Posted 10/28/2013 3:51:54 PM

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: Yesterday @ 4:05:56 PM
I used to not hunt with a dog (mainly because I had never had a hunting dog) until I married and my wife's dog became mine essentially. This lab was a fully trained upland bird hunter, but never out on a duck hunt. I have been hunting her now for two years in a duck blind and I keep finding myself trying to keep her mind on duck hunting instead of pheasant hunting. She doesn't have any problem retrieving downed ducks and geese, but the problem is keeping her with me or still enough for the birds to come in. Does anyone have any pointers on getting my dog focused only on duck hunting or is this a lost cause with her enjoying upland bird hunting too much?
Post #774538
Add to Twitter Add to Facebook
 Posted 10/29/2013 3:57:54 PM

Also, she does sit and stay for an excellent amount of time when training but its when we're in the blind she gets restless and only stay for about 30sec. until she starts whining and moving around...
Post #774547
 Posted 11/9/2013 5:58:07 AM

Last Login: 9/10/2014 6:12:03 AM
My lab did the same when I started training him. Although not a pro, here are a couple tips I used to make him a bit more steady:

1- Start easy. Have them "stay" (or whatever command you use), in a controlled environment with no distractions. Keep them in a familiar area such as the house or back yard. Walk away just a bit, if the dog breaks, give a little tap with the e-collar.

2- (From Tom Dokken's dog training book, paraphrased) Grab your dog, a magazine and a cup of coffee and go sit outside for 30 minutes. I would sit by my front door, in the park (not close to people) and just sit there are read. He had a tough time at first. He was saying "you want me to just sit here and do nothing?" YES! That is just what I want from you.