Ducks Unlimited Member Forums

Posted 6/18/2013 8:43:11 PM

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 9/5/2013 4:29:16 PM
I have an 8 month old Black Lab named Ellie. Im new to duck hunting and this will be my first year. She loves fetching and will retrieve almost anything I throw at her. She always stayed close to me outside with little training. She is something like 3rd generation gun dog. I have yet to train her on the gun. Being military it hasn't worked into the schedule yet. She is getting close to that age where she is already way behind most. However I also came to possess a Weimaraner recently. He is already pretty well trained, just not for ducks. I think he will be good with pheasant cause he likes to run about 20-30 yards out and never goes father than that and returns on command. But here's my issue. since I had him, my lab has been rather mischievous. She runs all over in the yard, won't come to her name, and i usually end up having to go get a tennis ball and convincing her to come with that. I don't give it to her so she doesn't associate her behavior as "good". I think getting her fixed will help, he is fixed too, but i want to wait because she is kinda small for a lab her age and I'm hoping her going through one cycle might help her grow? i don't know. She started out doing really good and it all seems at a loss lately. Either way I will have her around just really hoping to make her a good gun dog. ANy tips on breaking the habit?
Post #773004
Add to Twitter Add to Facebook
 Posted 6/19/2013 6:41:29 AM

Last Login: Yesterday @ 11:17:12 AM
I guess I don't understand why someone who, admittedly, has no time to train one dog properly would take on a second dog.

Your lab sounds like she is making a bid for your attention any way possible, including acting up.

There are several things you can do;

(1)Take your lab to a pro and let her be properly trained while you spend what little time you have with the other dog.