Ducks Unlimited Member Forums

How to reduce Recoil on a Youth Gun for a 9 yr old excited to hunt

Posted 10/15/2012 10:17:37 AM

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 2/7/2013 11:52:58 AM
First let me start by saying that I am fairly new to waterfowl hunting (2.5 yrs) and I am still learning.  I have had a successful hunts the times I have been out, so much so that my 9 yr old son is excited to go out on his 1st youth hunt (Oct 27-28th). We went shopping for a gun and bought a Maverick 88 Youth model with adjustable stock.  The current set up of 12" LOP fits him right on.  He is a skinny 60 lb boy and I need ideas on how to reduce the recoil of the shotgun.  I was thinking of inserting some high dense foam in the hollow stock.  Has anyone done this?  I was also open to adding a slip on recoil pad, but cant afford to add an inch on the LOP.  If I add a slip on recoil pad, do I remove the existing pad?  Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, as I have 2 weeks before the youth hunt. 

In September I took him out for early teal.  He set out the spread and did all the calling.  I shot 2 that day.  He really enjoyed it.  I attached pics to share.

EV

duckhunt1.JPG (11 views, 1.59 MB)
 duckhunt2.JPG (10 views, 1.27 MB)
 duck Q.JPG (9 views, 1.50 MB)
Post #770578
Add to Twitter Add to Facebook
 Posted 10/15/2012 7:13:57 PM

Last Login: 8/28/2014 7:20:45 PM
Soft recoil pad, be careful the slip-on adds  length so buy another pad, use low power loads for practice, and  make sure the mount is good. The first rule in waterfowling is you need more stuff!

Edited: 10/15/2012 7:22:07 PM by duckless
Post #770591
 Posted 10/17/2012 10:12:17 AM

I have narrowed down my search for a recoil pad for my sons shotgun to the following:
  • Shooter's Friend- Excellent reviews on Cabela's website
  • Kick Eez- Im convinced that the material they use "Sorbothane" works.
Anyone have any experience with either one of these products that might help me make the final decision?

EV