Ducks Unlimited Member Forums

Training table plans

Posted 5/20/2008 1:28:48 PM

Group: Forum Members
Last Login: 12/12/2013 12:37:44 PM
Good afternoon guys.

In preparation for purchasing my lab later this year, I would like to build a training table with ramps on each side.  I know that I will hear from some that this table is not necessary when it comes time to condition retrieve the dog but I am a first time trainer and I hope to have as much control as possible during the process.  Currently, I do not plan to toe hitch...but I do plan to use Don's special tool for the ear pinch...how much are you selling them for these days Don? $50-$60?  Worth every cent..... :)

I searched past threads for schematics with no success.

Thanks!

Chubster

Chubster

"I had not taken this majestic beast. He was given to me.  I am merely a piece of the puzzle."  - Ted Nugent

Post #628786
Add to Twitter Add to Facebook
 Posted 5/20/2008 1:52:40 PM

Last Login: 9/16/2014 4:20:25 PM
Actually, with the last 4 that I force fetched, all during the same period, I just used the flat of my thumb or my thumbnail for the most part.  Admittedly, whether or not to use a table is an individual choice, but I just think it's a lot of work building it and expense that is not necessary.  If obedience is stable, you can have just as much control with the dog sitting next to you on the ground.  Plus, a table only has limited application.  Once they are picking up off the table, you are going to have to go to ground and you'll probably have to repeat steps with this new "environment."  I've never used a table.  Off and on I've used the carpeted tailgate of my truck, but that was only when my back was bothering me.  Sitting on a stool or bucket next to pup is just as easy.

In loving memory of Chevy, HR Meglyn's Silverado Slim SH, July 20, 2006 and Belle, HR Meglyn's Blue Ridge Belle MH, July 19, 2008 and HRCH Meglyn's Honest Abe MH, August 10, 2013.  www.meglynretrievers.com
Post #628788