first shotgun... purchase suggestions?

http://me.ducks.org/news-media/messageboards/Topic775169.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By TeeBatter - 12/16/2013 8:30:35 PM
i'm new to duck hunting, and shotguns in general.  i'm looking to purchase my first shotgun.  looking for suggestions for a good entry-level shotgun probably in the $700-$900 range.  I appreciate any and all advice!
By muddymarshboy - 12/17/2013 12:21:16 PM
Well Tee------The most important thing in choosing a shotgun is that your eye views the top of the barrel as flat & lines up straight with the front bead when shouldered properly. That said, then it needs to feel right to you in your hands---you need to have confidence in it. For myself, reliability is very important in a duck gun.
In my opinion, pumps from Remington, Benelli & Browning are great chooses, & I like the auto's that are bolt blow back cycled like Benelli, Stoeger, and the new Browning A5. Good luck.
By U.P.Forester - 12/19/2013 8:27:02 AM
I am in the same boat as you.  I am looking for a semi-auto in the same price range.  I have been doing lots of research and have been going to the gun shop and picking up a few guns.  I am about 95% sure I will be getting a Franchi Affinity.  I have heard nothing but good things about the gun and when I went to the store and held one I knew that it was the gun for me.  The Franchi is made in Benelli factory so you are pretty much getting a benelli without the large price tag.
By TeeBatter - 12/20/2013 2:34:25 PM
Thanks for the replies. i will definitely be taking a look at the affinity
By flannel - 12/21/2013 9:13:09 PM
I would seriously consider a Browning Silver and the Versa Max ( sportsman is in your price range) as I own both and have been highly impressed with them. They will also shoot with much less recoil snd will cycle light target loads which inertia guns will not.
By CoreyB - 1/27/2014 10:13:19 PM