DU Mobile Apps
Banding Together for Waterfowl

Legislators sign on to letters asking for NAWCA funding

Members of Congress came out in force this year to ask the House and Senate appropriations committees to appropriately fund the North American Wetlands Conservation Act (NAWCA).

Ducks Unlimited encouraged members of Congress to sign a “Dear Colleague” letter saying they were in favor of funding NAWCA in Fiscal Year 2014. The House letter, issued by Reps. John Dingell (MI) and Don Young (AK), was sent to the House Appropriations Committee with 72 signatures—29 more than last year. Sens. Chris Coons (DE), Mike Crapo (ID), Amy Klobuchar (MN) and John Thune (SD) circulated the Senate “Dear Colleague” letter, which contained 33 signatures.

Below is a list of all of the members of Congress who signed the “Dear Colleague” letters. Please join us in thanking them for their support of NAWCA!

 Senate signers  House signers
 Tammy Baldwin (WI)  Dan Benishek (MI)
 Max Baucus (MT)  Ami Bera (CA)
 Richard Blumenthal (CT)  Marsha Blackburn (TN)
 Barbara Boxer (CA)  Earl Blumenauer (OR)
 Tom Carper (DE)  Bruce Braley (IA)
 Chris Coons (DE)  G.K. Butterfield (NC)
 Mike Crapo (ID)  Lois Capps (CA)
 Dianne Feinstein (CA)  John Carney (DE)
 Al Franken (MN)  Matt Cartwright (PA)
 Kay Hagan (NC)  Judy Chu (CA)
 Tom Harkin (IA)  David Cicilline (RI)
 Martin Heinrich (NM)  Howard Coble (NC)
 Heidi Heitkamp (ND)  Steve Cohen (TN)
 Mazie Hirono (HI)  Gerry Connolly (VA)
 John Hoeven (ND)  John Conyers (MI)
 James Inhofe (OK)  Jim Costa (CA)
 Tim Johnson (SD)  Joe Courtney (CT)
 Angus King (ME)  Danny Davis (IL)
 Amy Klobuchar (MN)  Diana DeGette (CO)
 Mary Landrieu (LA)  Ted Deutch (FL)
 Frank Lautenberg (NJ)  John Dingell (MI)
 Carl Levin (MI)  Donna Edwards (MD)
 Jim Risch (ID)  Keith Ellison (MN)
 Bernard Sanders (VT)  Anna Eshoo (CA)
 Brian Schatz (HI)  John Garamendi (CA)
 Jeanne Shaheen (NH)  Chris Gibson (NY)
 Debbie Stabenow (MI)  Raúl Grijalva (AZ)
 Jon Tester (MT)  Michael Grimm (NY)
 John Thune (SD)  Alcee Hastings (FL)
 David Vitter (LA)  Denny Heck (WA)
 Roger Wicker (MS)  Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)
 Ron Wyden (OR)  Jared Huffman (CA)
   Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)
   Bill Johnson (OH)
   Derek Kilmer (WA)
   Ron Kind (WI)
   Steve King (IA)
   Jim Langevin (RI)
   Barbara Lee (CA)
   Sander Levin (MI)
   David Loebsack (IA)
   Alan Lowenthal (CA)
   Carolyn Maloney (NY)
   Edward Markey (MA)
   Carolyn McCarthy (NY)
   Jerry McNerney (CA)
   Michael Michaud (ME)
   Gwen Moore (WI)
   Patrick Murphy (FL)
   Richard Nolan (MN)
   Gary Peters (MI)
   Mark Pocan (WI)
   Charles Rangel (NY)
   Cedric Richmond (LA)
   Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA)
   John Runyan (NJ)
   Jan Schakowsky (IL)
   Bobby Scott (VA)
   David Scott (GA)
   Carol Shea-Porter (NH)
   Louise Slaughter (NY)
   Steve Stivers (OH)
   Steve Stockman (TX)
   Eric Swalwell (CA)
   Bennie Thompson (MS)
   Mike Thompson (CA)
   Juan Vargas (CA)
   Tim Walz (MN)
   Henry Waxman (CA)
   Peter Welch (VT)
   Frederica Wilson (FL)
   Don Young (AK)


Free DU Decal

Receive a free DU decal when you signup for our free monthly newsletter.

Receive a Monthly Public Policy Briefing from DU!

Subscribe to the CIB today!Want the latest information on DU's conservation policy efforts as they happen? Sign up to receive DU's Waterfowl Advocate, a monthly email summary of the state of waterfowl-related policy.

Sign up now!

  DU is a Better Business Bureau Accredited Charity DU Holds a 4-Star Rating with Charity Navigator