DU Mobile Apps
Banding Together for Waterfowl

Policy News: Vol. 3, Issue 6

Top Stories for Feb. 8, 2011

Arkansas senator newest member of federal board managing duck habitat 

U.S. Sen. Mark Pryor (AR) has been appointed to serve on the Migratory Bird Conservation Commission, a federal board that manages duck habitat across the nation. (photo courtesy washingtonpost.com)
U.S. Sen. Mark Pryor (AR) has been appointed to serve on the Migratory Bird Conservation Commission. "Those of us who have high regard for waterfowl conservation have reason to be pleased," said Scott Sutherland, director of Ducks Unlimited's Governmental Affairs Office, after learning of Pryor's appointment to the MBCC. "Sen. Pryor 
is a waterfowl hunter and comes from an area of the country where there is an immense history of conserving and appreciating the waterfowl resource," Sutherland said.

The MBCC was created as part of the 1929 Migratory Bird Conservation Act and has two main objectives:
  1. To consider and approve areas of land and water for purchase or paid easement as recommended by the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service using funds from the Migratory Bird Conservation Fund (revenue from the sale of federal duck stamps), and,
  2. Approve project funding under the North American Wetlands Conservation Act
"Those conservation programs are strongly supported by waterfowl hunters. Anyone hunting waterfowl in the United States is required to purchase a federal duck stamp. The NAWCA program matches non-federal funds (many generated from hunter donations) with federal funding to provide wetlands habitat projects that serve wildlife across the continent. 

The MBCC meets three times each year, and is made of cabinet-level officials, four members of Congress (two senators and two representatives) and a U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service employee who serves as the commission's secretary. The Secretary of the Interior serves as chairman of the commission. The members of Congress are named by their party's leader in each body of Congress.

Other members of the MBCC are:
  • Ken Salazar, Secretary of the Interior
  • Tom Vilsack, Secretary of Agriculture
  • Lisa Jackson, EPA Administrator
  • Eric Alvarez, Chief, USFWS Division of Realty
  • Sen. Thad Cochran (MS)
  • Rep. John Dingell (MI)
  • Rep. Rob Wittman (VA)

Free DU Decal

Receive a free DU decal when you signup for our free monthly newsletter.