Great Plains Region

a

Photo © Michael Furtman

 

The Great Plains Region, headquartered in Bismarck, N.D., was established in 1984 to protect and restore wetlands and grasslands in the United States Great Plains. Today, the GPR carries out conservation programs in seven states that include some of the most important nesting and migration habitat on the continent. DU has conserved more than 1.2 million acres in the Great Plains states of North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, MontanaKansas, Colorado and Wyoming.

Upwards to 50 percent of the continent’s waterfowl nest in the Prairie Pothole Region states of Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota, where DU protects grasslands and wetlands. DU also works with farmers and landowners to promote planting winter wheat, which makes good nesting habitat since it is planted in the fall and has less disruption in the spring.

Ducks and other wetland-dependent birds depend on migration habitat to feed, rest and build vital energy reserves. DU restores and protects habitat in the Rainwater Basin in Nebraska and along the Platte River in Nebraska, Colorado and Wyoming; the mountain wetlands of Colorado, Montana and Wyoming; and the Cheyenne Bottoms in Kansas. Research has shown that the quality of migration habitat affects the condition of birds returning north to the nesting grounds.

DU is developing new ways to help landowners conserve land through its Ecosystems Services, including the Environmental Water Markets, Carbon Sequestration and Wetland Mitigation programs.

GPR_Map

Great Plains Region Contacts

North Dakota

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Jonas Davis at (701) 355-3593 or jdavis@ducks.org
For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Chris Hildebrandt at (406) 203-2503 or childebrandt@ducks.org
For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Greg Dinkel at (308) 440-6413 or gdinkel@ducks.org
For questions related to conservation programs in NW North Dakota, contact Dane Buysse at (507) 828-2658 or dbuysse@ducks.org
For questions related to conservation programs in central and eastern North Dakota, contact Tanner Gue at (701) 355-3592 or tgue@ducks.org
 

Montana

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or project, contact Robert Sanders at (406) 492-2002 or rsanders@ducks.org
For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Chris Hildebrandt at (406) 203-2503 or childebrandt@ducks.org
For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Greg Dinkel at (308) 440-6413 or gdinkel@ducks.org
For questions related to conservation programs in Montana, contact Abby Dresser at (406) 544-6445 or adresser@ducks.org
 

South Dakota

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Steve Donovan at (605) 633-0270 or sdonovan@ducks.org
For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Terry Kostinec at (605) 624-0098 or tkostinec@ducks.org
For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Greg Dinkel at (308) 440-6413 or gdinkel@ducks.org
For questions related to conservation programs in NE South Dakota, contact Josh Kiesow at (605) 695-2676 or jkiesow@ducks.org
For questions related to conservation programs in SE South Dakota, contact Dan Limmer at (605) 530-6001 or dlimmer@ducks.org

Nebraska

For questions on information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact John Denton at (308) 258-4682 or jdenton@ducks.org
For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Terry Kostinec at (605) 624-0098 or tkostinec@ducks.org
For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Greg Dinkel at (308) 440-6413 or gdinkel@ducks.org

Kansas

For questions on information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact John Denton at (308) 258-4682 or jdenton@ducks.org
For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Kirk Davidson at (303) 927-1949 or kdavidson@ducks.org
For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Greg Dinkel at (308) 440-6413 or gdinkel@ducks.org

Colorado

For questions on information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Martin Grenier at (970) 775-4416 or mgrenier@ducks.org
For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Kirk Davidson at (303) 927-1949 or kdavidson@ducks.org
For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Greg Dinkel at (308) 440-6413 or gdinkel@ducks.org

 

Wyoming

For questions on information on local DU conservation programs on projects, contact Martin Grenier at (970) 775-4416 or mgrenier@ducks.org
For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Chris Hildebrandt at (406) 203-2503 or childebrandt@ducks.org
For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Greg Dinkel at (308) 440-6413 or gdinkel@ducks.org