DU's Southern Region

a

Photo © Hudson Harrison

Ducks Unlimited's Southern Region office is located in Ridgeland, Mississippi and was established in 1990 to protect and restore wetlands and other wildlife habitat in the southeastern United States. 

The Southern Region is tasked with protecting and restoring wetlands and other wildlife habitat in 13 states that include some of the most important wintering habitat on the continent and two, Level 1 continental habitat priorities for DU. Ducks Unlimited and its partners have conserved nearly two million acres of waterfowl habitat from Oklahoma south to New Mexico, east to Florida, and north to Virginia.

SRO_Map

Two-thirds of North America's waterfowl winter in DU's Southern Region, and many species spend more of the year here than they do on the breeding grounds. Ducks and geese depend on wintering habitat in southern latitudes to feed, rest, and build vital energy reserves. Research has shown that the quality of habitat on the wintering grounds affects winter survival rates and the condition of birds returning north. Better wintering habitat may lead to a more productive nesting season and more ducks flying south again in the fall. In addition, the Southern Region is the year-round home to many wood ducks and the entire continental population of mottled ducks – North America’s only non-migratory waterfowl species.

 

Highest Priority Habitat Areas

 Gulf Coastal Prairie | Mississippi Alluvial Valley

 

States Within the Southern Region

 

Alabama | ArkansasFloridaGeorgiaLouisiana
MississippiNorth Carolina | Oklahoma
 South CarolinaTennesseeNew Mexico | Texas | Virginia

Contacts:

Southern Regional Office

193 Business Park Drive, Ste. E Ridgeland, MS 39157 601-956-1936

Alabama

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Tim Willis at (601) 956-1936 or twillis@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Shawn Battison at (334) 430-8622 or sbattison@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Jeff Lawrence at (501) 728-4949 or jlawrence@ducks.org

Arkansas

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Tim Willis at (601) 956-1936 or twillis@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Corey Dunn at (501) 553-3815 or cdunn@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Jeff Lawrence at (501) 728-4949 or jlawrence@ducks.org

Florida

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Jamie Rader at (843) 745-9110 or jrader@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Shawn Battison at (334) 430-8622 or sbattison@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Brett Baker at (843) 745-9110 or bbaker@ducks.org

Georgia

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Jamie Rader at (843) 745-9110 or jrader@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Shawn Battison at (334) 430-8622 or sbattison@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Brett Baker at (843) 745-9110 or bbaker@ducks.org

Louisiana

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Mike Carloss at (337) 408-3288 or mcarloss@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Bob Dew at (337) 408-3288 or bdew@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Jeff Lawrence at (501) 728-4949 or jlawrence@ducks.org

Mississippi

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Tim Willis at (601) 956-1936 or twillis@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Chad Manlove at (601) 206-5442 or cmanlove@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Jeff Lawrence at (501) 728-4949 or jlawrence@ducks.org

New Mexico

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Todd Merendino at (832) 595-0663 or tmerendino@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Bob Locke at (972) 921-5655 or  rlocke@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Scott Grant at (512) 992-0710 or sgrant@ducks.org

North Carolina

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Jamie Rader at (843) 745-9110 or jrader@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Al Clark at (864) 504-7946 or aclark@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Brett Baker at (843) 745-9110 or bbaker@ducks.org

Oklahoma

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Todd Merendino at (832) 595-0663 or tmerendino@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Bob Locke at (972) 921-5655 or  rlocke@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Scott Grant at (512) 992-0710 or sgrant@ducks.org

South Carolina

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Jamie Rader at (843) 745-9110 or jrader@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Al Clark at (864) 504-7946 or aclark@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Brett Baker at (843) 745-9110 or bbaker@ducks.org

Tennessee

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Jamie Rader at (843) 745-9110 or jrader@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Ashley Sutherland at (901) 361-5558 or jasutherland@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Brett Baker at (843) 745-9110 or bbaker@ducks.org

Texas

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Todd Merendino at (832) 595-0663 or tmerendino@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Matt Bunn at (832) 595-0063 or mbunn@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Scott Grant at (512) 992-0710 or sgrant@ducks.org

Virginia

For questions or information on local DU conservation programs or projects, contact Jamie Rader at (843) 745-9110 or jrader@ducks.org For questions related to DU major sponsors or how to become a major sponsor, contact Chip Heaps at (410) 399-4093 or cheaps@ducks.org For questions related to local DU fundraising events, contact Brett Baker at (843) 745-9110 or bbaker@ducks.org